Mines' Jeff Duggan named 2009 J.W. Campbell/Con Marshall Sports Information Director of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. May 28, 2009 — Colorado School of Mines' Jeff Duggan was voted the J.W. Campbell/Con Marshall Sports Information Director of the Year, which was voted on by the league's sports information directors. This is the second time Duggan has earned the award. He was also voted the sports information director of the year in 2003 when he worked at Regis University. 

The other top two finalists for this year's award were Anthony Sandstrom from CSU-Pueblo and Peter Yazvac from Nebraska-Kearney. The winner of the award is not eligible for the award the following year.
Duggan, who previously served as the SID at Mines from 1997-00, has completed his fifth year as the Orediggers sports information director. At Mines, Duggan is responsible for the promotion of the 18-sport athletics program through the production of media guides, game programs, press releases, statistics, game notes, schedule cards, posters and the athletics website. Duggan serves as the primary contact for football, volleyball, men's basketball, wrestling, baseball and golf.
A 1996 graduate of Regis University (B.A. in Communication), Duggan served as the SID at his alma mater from 2000-05. During his undergraduate career at Regis, he served for more than three years as the student manager of the sports information office. Duggan, who competed for three seasons (1993-95) on the Rangers' junior varsity baseball team, went on to earn his master's degree in Business Administration from Regis University in 2005.
Duggan is currently a member of Mines' Web Redevelopment Committee and Communications Roundtable. He also serves on the National Collegiate Baseball Writers' Association (NCBWA) NCAA Division II Central Region and National rankings committees.
J. W. Campbell was a long-time sports information director at Western State College. He was also the assistant to the Western State President, an assistant professor, teaching seven separate disciplines and was the school's information director. He also co-authored two books and wrote numerous articles for magazines and trade publications. Campbell, who passed away in March 2000, was inducted into the RMAC Hall of Fame in July 2007.
Con Marshall, who resigned from the sports information directors post from Chadron State College in 2007 after 36 years, continues to assist in the promotions of Chadron State and its athletics programs. A native of Chadron and a CSC graduate, Marshall's named was added to the award in 2007. He has received a 25-year award from the College Sports Information Directors of America and served on the Harlon Hill Award Selection Committee. 
Past recipients of the J.W. Campbell/Con Marshall Award:
2009: Jeff Duggan, Colorado School of Mines
2008: Chris Day, Adams State College
2007: Doug Fitzgerald, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
2006: Peter Yazvac, Nebraska-Kearney & Chris Day, Adams State College
2005: Jason McCullough, Fort Hays State
2004: Greg Murphy, Colorado School of Mines
2003: Jeff Duggan, Regis University
2002: Chris Day, Adams State College
Sarah Meier, Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Assistant Commissioner / 719-471-4936
Karen Gilbert, Mines Public Relations Specialist / 303-273-3541



© 2017 Colorado School of Mines | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Text-Only Version

Last Updated: 04/25/2017 08:37:31