Mines elects first faculty trustee

GOLDEN, Colo., June 10, 2008 – The Colorado School of Mines faculty senate elected John Dorgan, professor of chemical engineering, as the School’s first faculty trustee. He was sworn in June 6 for a term running through Dec. 31, 2010.

The faculty representative position was established through Senate Bill 08-191, which was sponsored by Senator Moe Keller and Representative Gwyn Green. The faculty trustee is elected by the Mines faculty and is a non-voting position.

Dorgan has been on the Mines faculty since 1993. Currently, he is the site director for the Colorado Center for Biofuels and Biorefining, a Colorado Renewable Energy Collaboratory center.

He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Massachusetts, a Ph.D. from the University of California-Berkeley and conducted post-doctoral studies at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research in Germany.

Dorgan received the National Science Foundation CAREER award in 1995 and is a Hertz Fellow.

Founded in 1874, Colorado School of Mines was established to serve the needs of the local mining industry. Today, the School has an international reputation for excellence in both engineering education and the applied sciences with special expertise in the development and stewardship of the Earth's resources. For more information about Colorado School of Mines, visit www.mines.edu.


Karen Gilbert, Public Relations Specialist
303-273-3541 / Karen.Gilbert@is.mines.edu

Marsha Williams, Director of Integrated Marketing Communications
303-273-3326 / marswill@mines.edu


© 2017 Colorado School of Mines | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Text-Only Version

Last Updated: 04/25/2017 08:37:31