Colorado School of Mines awards 2009 Caldwell Scholarship

Graphical Version

Colorado School of Mines awards 2009 Caldwell Scholarship

GOLDEN, Colo., April 6, 2009 – Colorado School of Mines and Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce will present the 2009 Caldwell Scholarship to recipient Riya J. Muckom during the ATHENA Award Gala from 5:30 to 9 p.m. on Apr. 30 at the Seawell Ballroom, 1101 13th Street in Denver.

One hundred eleven years ago, Florence Caldwell became the first woman to graduate from Colorado School of Mines. As part of the legacy of encouraging women to pursue degrees and careers in science and engineering, Mines, in cooperation with the Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce, began awarding the Florence Caldwell Scholarship in 2000. This award covers tuition, mandatory and regular fees, and a book allowance for four years, and is valued at approximately $48,000. Scholarship applicants must be Colorado residents; have at least a 3.8 GPA; be in the top 5 percent of their class; and have an ACT composite score of 30 or SAT Critical Reading and Math combined score of 1320.

Riya J. Muckom will graduate this spring from Douglas County High School in Castle Rock, Colo. She plans to study chemical and biochemical engineering at Mines. In addition to fulfilling the scholarship criteria, Muckom is president of Link Crew, president of Key Club, and historian of Teen Court. She also placed first at the Colorado FBLA State Conference in the Global Business competition, is a member of National Honor Society, and participated in junior varsity tennis. Additionally, she volunteers at various activities including the Wildlife Experience Museum, Porter Adventist Hospital and Castle Rock Teen Court.

In addition to the scholarship presentation, the ATHENA Award Gala will include silent and live auctions, reception, dinner, and ATHENA awards program. Tamara Banks will emcee the event. The ATHENA Award honors the Denver woman who best exemplifies exceptional professional achievement, devotion to community service and generosity in actively assisting other women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. 

The 2009 ATHENA Award finalists include: Cathy Hart, vice president, Corporate Services, corporate secretary and chief compliance officer, Xcel Energy; Tensie Homan, managing partner, KPMG, LLP; Sharon Linhart, managing partner, Linhart Public Relations; Caz Matthews, foundation president, Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield; and Jill S. Tietjen, president/CEO, Technically Speaking. The chamber will name the award recipient at the gala.

For more information, visit or call 303-458-0220. ATHENA Award Gala sponsors include: JPMorgan CHASE, Premier Sponsor; ColoradoBiz Magazine, Print Media Partner; American Family Insurance and Xcel Energy, Distinguished Sponsors; Gay & Lesbian Fund for Colorado and Miller Coors, Sustaining Sponsors; and CH2M Hill and KPMG, LLP Supporting Sponsors.

The Colorado Women's Chamber of Commerce is one of the largest women’s chambers in the nation. CWCC provides its members with the environment and resources conducive to business success, skills and knowledge about business issues and trends, visibility in the community and opportunities for community involvement and business partnerships.

Contact: Sanya Andersen-Vie
Marketing & Communications Manager
Colorado Women’s Chamber of Commerce
Phone: 303-458-0220




Font Size