Advocates & Allies

 

 

 

Program Overview

Mines Advocates is a group of male faculty, tenured or senior teaching faculty, and mid to senior-career employees committed to supporting women on campus. Advocates are active proponents of gender diversity and equality, which at Mines means increasing the number of women faculty, encouraging the hiring of and promotion of women to administrative and leadership positions, and ensuring the fair and equitable treatment of women at Mines within their units. Advocates foster dialogue with other men on campus through the Allies for Gender Equity workshop, adapted from the nationally recognized program at North Dakota State University.

Allies for Gender Equity Workshop 

During an hour-long interactive, scenario-based workshop, the Advocate facilitators invite Mines men to explore incidents experienced by their women colleagues. Participants practice appropriate actions to take in those situations.

The Advocates intentionally made this is a men only event with the aim of fostering open and honest communication. 

 

Workshop is not recorded nor will identifying information from the dialogue be discussed away from the session.

 

Mines Advocates for Gender Equity

Call for cohort 2

Closes April 23, 2021

Women Advisory Board

Call for members

Closes April 23, 2021

Meet the Advocates & Women Advisory Board

 

  1. Dustin Olson / Public Safety dolson1@mines.edu    
  2. Steve Kriedler / Foundation skreidler@mines.edu  
  3. Dean Nieusma / EDS nieusma@mines.edu  
  4. Kester Clarke / MME kclarke@mines.edu  
  5. Christopher (Chris) Coulston, Chair / EE coulston@mines.edu

 

  1. Carolyn Freedman / AMS cfreedman@mines.edu  
  2. Vibhuti Dave / CS vdave@mines.edu    
  3. Julia Roos / Humanitarian Engineering (EDS) jroos@mines.edu    
  4. Bryann Lynch / Public Safety brylynch@mines.edu    
  5. Mary Cook / International Programs marycook@mines.edu   
  6. Sareen Lambright Dale / Title IX and Equity Compliance slambrightdale@mines.edu   
  7. Carol Smith / Library and Museum cesmith@mines.edu  
  8. Amy Landis, Chair / Diversity, Inclusion & Access amylandis@mines.edu 

 

History of Advocates & Allies

Phase I

In April 2019, we brought the nationally recognized Advocates and Allies for Gender Equity program to campus. The workshop provides men with a deeper understanding of the inequities facing their women colleagues in higher education and provides them with a set of tools to respond in the moment as an ally. Over 80 men faculty and staff completed allies training for gender equity since its introduction to campus. A parallel session for women, Gender and Higher Education: Exploring Women’s Experiences was offered, and a facilitated listening session was offered in early fall. Learn more about Advocates & Allies 

Phase II

Members of the Women Advisory Board (WAB) selected seven men Advocates from a pool of applicants in late summer 2019. The Advocates completed a two-day, seven-hour training facilitated by the Advocates and Allies trainers to create an Advocates & Allies Mission Statement, objectives, principles and actions, and presented their work to the WAB. The WAB advises the work of the advocates and communicates feedback on gendered environments from other women colleagues and peers at Mines.