Advocates & Allies

 

 

 

Program Overview

The Men’s Advocates for Gender Equity is a group of Mines men who made a personal commitment to embrace their individual and collective responsibilities for taking action to address gender inequity by educating themselves and their men colleagues; and by standing up and speaking out against gender inequity wherever it exists at Mines. One aspect of this commitment is their development and presentation of an interactive, scenarios-based workshop on gender equity. During the campus workshop the Advocate facilitators invite Mines men to discuss scenarios experienced by women colleagues and appropriate actions to take in those situations.

The Advocates intentionally made this is a men only event with the aim of fostering open and honest communication. 

 

Request an Advocate-led workshop

 

Workshop is not recorded nor will identifying information from the dialogue be discussed away from the session.

 

History of Advocates & Allies

 

Phase I

In April 2019, we brought the nationally recognized Advocates and Allies for Gender Equity program to campus. The workshop provides men with a deeper understanding of the inequities facing their women colleagues in higher education and provides them with a set of tools to respond in the moment as an ally. Over 80 men faculty and staff completed allies training for gender equity since its introduction to campus. A parallel session for women, Gender and Higher Education: Exploring Women’s Experiences was offered, and a facilitated listening session was offered in early fall. Learn more about Advocates & Allies 

Phase II

Members of the Women Advisory Board (WAB) selected seven men Advocates from a pool of applicants in late summer 2019. The Advocates completed a two-day, seven-hour training facilitated by the Advocates and Allies trainers to create an Advocates & Allies Mission Statement, objectives, principles and actions, and presented their work to the WAB. The WAB advises the work of the advocates and communicates feedback on gendered environments from other women colleagues and peers at Mines.

 

Meet the Advocates & Women Advisory Board

 

  1. Dustin Olson / Public Safety dolson1@mines.edu    
  2. Steve Kriedler / Foundation skreidler@mines.edu  
  3. Dean Nieusma / EDS nieusma@mines.edu  
  4. Kester Clarke / MME kclarke@mines.edu  
  5. Christopher (Chris) Coulston, Chair / EE coulston@mines.edu

 

  1. Carolyn Freedman / AMS cfreedman@mines.edu  
  2. Vibhuti Dave / CS vdave@mines.edu    
  3. Julia Roos / Humanitarian Engineering (EDS) jroos@mines.edu    
  4. Bryann Lynch / Public Safety brylynch@mines.edu    
  5. Mary Cook / International Programs marycook@mines.edu   
  6. Sareen Lambright Dale / Title IX and Equity Compliance slambrightdale@mines.edu   
  7. Carol Smith / Library and Museum cesmith@mines.edu  
  8. Amy Landis, Chair / Diversity, Inclusion & Access amylandis@mines.edu