## Colorado School of Mines – FACULTY SENATE MEETING AGENDA August 28, 2018, 2:00 – 4:00 pm, Hill Hall 300

1)	Welcome New People New Senators to serve 3 years: Alexis Sitchler (GE) Steve Thompson (MME) Neal Sullivan (ME) – reappointment; he previously took over from John New Senators to serve 2 years: Gus Greivel (AMS), chair of the UnderGrad Council Alina Handorean (EDS) Lisa Nickum (LB) – moves from LB representative to full member of Sen Angie Sower (CH) Student Government Reps: Joe Bourgeois, GSG and Michaela Serpas, USG Curriculum Specialist – Cathy Timm	
2)	Provost / Academic Affairs Update	Tom Boyd
3)	<b>Registrar Update</b> Classrooms, staff update, training, roster change email updates Dates and deadlines	Lara Medley Cathy Timm
4)	Course Evaluation Report	Jenifer Veloff
5)	<b>Approval of Minutes</b> – information only MOTION to Approve Faculty Senate Minutes of May 8, 2018 Electronic Vote was finalized on May 24, 2018, <u>Approved:</u> 8 yay, 0 nay, 1 al	Tzahi Cath ostain
6)	Committee Seats to be Filled	Alina Handorean
7)	Nomination for Faculty Trustee 2 year term ends Dec 2018 – (current representative is Terri Hogue)	Tzahi Cath
8)	Suicide Prevention / Mental Health Committee	Neal Sullivan & Colin Terry
9)	Library Committee Update	Paula Farca & Carol Smith
10)	<ul> <li>Grad Council Updates</li> <li>New Programs - Mining Engineering Status: apprv'd at GC 3/7/18, pending FS vote New Degree (3): MS-PhD in Earth Resources Development Engineerin New Degree (3): MS-PhD in Mining Engineering</li> </ul>	Marcelo Simoes Jürgen Brune ng
11) UnderGrad Council Updates		Gus Greivel

## 12) Miscellaneous Business

## Tzahi Cath

- Research Council Update
- Topics to Discuss in Upcoming Year
  - Voting privileges for USG (and potentially GSG) committee members
  - o Add'l representatives from Programs to Councils
  - o Outstanding items from 2017-18
  - Faculty climate survey results
- FS Coffee Hour and/or Happy Hour
- Distinguished Lecturer Series