Mines Community Alliances

Mines Latinx Community Alliance

Chair: Kyle Castro

Executive Sponsor: Stefanie Tompkins

Mines Women Community Alliance

Co-Chairs: Sebnem Duzgun and Annette Pilkington

Executive Sponsor: Rick Holz


Mines Black Community Alliance

Chair: Sham Tzegai

Executive Sponsor: Anne Stark Walker

Mines LGBTQ Community Alliance

Co-Chairs: Heather Hamilton and Martin Heck

Executive Sponsor: Dan Fox

NOW is the time to volunteer to be a member of these groups! If you are interested in joining an MCA as a general member, submit your interest here.

Mines Community Alliances


The Mission of MCA is to be a strategic partner with the University to advance the understanding and inclusion of employees. The MCA’s should serve as a catalyst to enhance university objectives and professional development of our members.


Mines Community Alliances (MCAs) combine university and employee goals to provide maximum benefit to Colorado School of Mines. MCAs are aligned with our overall strategic initiative of building a high performing organization and creating a great place to work. The groups primarily focus on the following:

Professional Development
Raising Cultural Awareness
Community Involvement
Outreach and Recruitment Efforts

In support of our diversity, inclusion and access strategies, and guiding principles, MCAs operate in an inclusive manner encouraging all employees to join groups regardless of  their race, color, religion, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, disability, veteran’s status, or other protected classification.


Membership in the MCAs is available to all regular full-time, part-time, and temporary employees who subscribe to the purpose of the MCA. All members are eligible to chair committees, become candidates for elected office, and vote in MCA elections.

At a minimum, the recommended elected officers of the MCA Leadership Team shall consist of:


Other volunteer officers of the MCA Leadership Team may consist of, but not limited to:

Strategic Areas Leads (variable)
Ad Hoc Committee Leads (variable)


No items, feed is empty.

2018-19 Working Group

  • Kyle Castro, Center for Academic Services & Advising
  • Lisa Martinez Conover, Office of Research Advancement
  • Kathleen Feighny, Human Resources
  • Heather Hamilton, Student Recreation
  • Martin Heck, Information & Technology Solutions
  • Kelly Knechtel, Diversity, Inclusion & Access
  • Annette Pilkington, WISEM