Sister-to-Sister Scholarship

In 1898, Florence Caldwell became the first woman to graduate from Colorado School of Mines with a degree in civil engineering. In the fall of 1998 Mines alumnae gathered to celebrate 100 years of Mines women graduates. The Caldwell Celebration was a huge success. As an outgrowth of the celebration and the need for further recognition of the contributions of all women at Mines, women gathered to develop a scholarship program sponsored and supported by alumni and friends of Mines. In December 2000, the Sister-to-Sister Scholarship Program was initiated. This program provides scholarships to students attending Mines who meet the criteria developed by the scholarship committee. Women currently comprise 33% of the Mines student body and are continually enriching the campus community. Through this scholarship, the Sister-to-Sister Scholarship Fund (SSSF) hopes to increase the number of highly motivated students on campus. The first Sister-to-Sister Scholarship was awarded in May 2001.


Award Information

The Sister-to-Sister Scholarship Fund (SSSF) is pleased to announce that it will be awarding two scholarships, in the amount of $3000 each, for the 2024-2025 academic year. One scholarship for an undergraduate student and one for a graduate student. Please read the instructions carefully and be sure the information submitted is complete. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Current undergraduate, transfer, and graduate students are eligible to apply.


Minimum qualifications
  • Applicants must be students currently enrolled at Colorado School of Mines.
  • Undergraduate applicants must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.6 on a scale of 4.0. Graduate applicants must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a scale of 4.0.
  • Undergraduate applicants must have completed at least one semester at Mines at the time of application, and be a junior or above (60+ credits) or be a graduate student as of the 2024-2025 year.
  • Recipients will be selected using the following criteria: leadership and community service with particular emphasis on supporting girls and women-related issues, personal and professional accomplishments, financial need, past academic performance, special circumstances, and quality of essay submission.
  • The recipient of the Sister-to-Sister Scholarship must be enrolled full-time for the 2024-2025 academic year or for the Fall 2024 semester if graduating in December 2024. The funds are available for the fall and spring semester only and will be distributed half in fall and half in spring.


Application Instructions
  • The application cannot be saved before submission. You may want to draft your responses in a separate document, then copy/paste your answers when you are ready to submit your application and attachments.
  • All three parts of this application must be completed, and all questions must be answered. If a question does not apply, respond with “N/A.”
  • Provide unofficial transcripts for all colleges/universities you have attended. Applications with missing transcripts will not be considered.
  • Application is due at noon on Friday, March 29, 2024.

Application Deadline








Past Sister-to-Sister Scholarship Recipients

2023    Undergraduate: Jessica Tomshack
2023    Graduate: Asmaa Romia
2022    Maryam Alahmar
2021    Taryn Tucker
2020    Natalie Collar
2019    Dessy Sapardina
2018    Margariete Malenda
2017    Chloe Archuleta
2016    Claire Mahoney
2015    Rania Eldam
2014    Kaitlyn Martin
2013    Kaylin Berry
2012    Kin-Ling Sham
2011    Marie Patton
2010    Ruqaiya Musa Muhammad
2009    Holly Brunkal
2008    Islin Moy, Danielle Visser
2007    Rachel Miller
2006    Christi Welter
2005    Kimberly James
2004    Marie Nguyen
2003    Jessica Evans
2002    Cambrey Johnston
2001    Jessica Tylicki