Available Projects 2022-2023

Projects are listed by mentor department. Click on the a department category below, then select the project by clicking on the title.

 

Techno-economic analysis of green hydrogen and ammonia as a fuel replacement

Primary Mentor:John Jechura, jjechura@mines.edu | Rok Sitar, roksitar@mines.edu | Colin Wolden, cwolden@mines.edu

read more

Shoulder loading during military load carriage

Primary Mentor:Anne Silverman, asilverm@mines.edu | Jordan Sturdy, sturdy@mines.edu

read more

Robot networks

Primary Mentor:Neil Dantam, ndantam@mines.edu | Qi Han, qhan@mines.edu.

read more

Reversible Fuel Cells for Grid Energy Storage

Primary Mentor:Dr. Robert Braun, rbraun@mines.edu Dr. Chris Cadigan, ccadigan@mines.edu

read more

Removing flouro-based compounds from water over metal organic frameworks

Primary Mentor:Moises A. Carreon (faculty advisor) mcarreon@mines.edu Graduate student from Carreon group (TBD)

read more

Nitrogen recovery from municipal biosolids

Primary Mentor:Tzahi Cath, tcath@mines.edu | Tayler Elwell, tjelwell@mines.edu | Isuru Arachchige, isuruabeysiriwardan@mines.edu |

read more

Multiscale characterization of PEM device components

Primary Mentor:Svitlana Pylypenko, spylypen@mines.edu. Genevieve Stelmacovich, gstelmacovich@mines.edu

read more

Multi-accelerator Execution of Autonomous Workloads

Primary Mentor:Mehmet Belviranli <belviranli@mines.edu> Ismet Dagli <ismetdagli@mines.edu>

read more

Microporous Molecular sieve membranes for olefin/paraffin separations

Primary Mentor:Moises A. Carreon (faculty advisor) mcarreon@mines.edu Keerthana Krisnan (PhD Student advisor) keerthanakrisnan@mines.edu

read more

IoT Security and Privacy Protection

Primary Mentor:Dr. Chuan Yue (chuanyue@mines.edu) and his PhD students (TBD).

read more

Intracellular Nanofactories

Primary Mentor:Scott Massimi , smassimi@mines.edu Kara Metzger, kmetzger@mines.edu

read more

Glaciers in the South: a study of glacier science outreach throughout the Southern U.S.

Primary Mentor:Hannah Verboncoeur, hverboncoeur@mines.edu| Dr. Matthew Siegfried, siegfried@mines.edu| Dr. Elizabeth Reddy, reddy@mines.edu|

read more

Evaluation of Water Quality from 5 Watersheds in Southern Peru

Primary Mentor:John McCray:    jmccray@mines.edu Prof. Pablo Chevesich Garcia:    pablogarciach@gmail.com AND pchevesich@mines.edu

read more

Design and control a robotic hand

Primary Mentor:Xiaoli Zhang, xlzhang@mines.edu| Michael Bowman, mibowman@mines.edu

read more

CONTROL OF GEOTHERMAL EGS HORIZONTAL WELLS

Primary Mentor:Dr. Will Fleckenstein and experts from Mines partners that are working on the design and fabrication of the tools needed.    

read more

Comparison of ESG Rankings: Latin America Operators

Primary Mentor:Linda Battalora, LBattalo@mines.edu | Maria Capello, mariangelacapello@gmail.com

read more

Barrier layers for enablign future fusion plants

Primary Mentor:Colin Wolden, cwolden@mine.edu|Adam Job, adamjob@mines.edu The MURF  covers the academic year but I would like to hire someone to start early this summer.

read more

Automated Core Scanning – Geochemical and Mineralogical Characterization and Visualization of the Subsurface

Primary Mentor:Katharina Pfaff, kpfaff@mines.edu Thomas Monecke, tmonecke@mines.edu Sebnem Duzgun, duzgun@mines.edu Luis Tenorio, ltenorio@mines.edu Yaoguo Li, ygli@mines.edu

read more

Antarctic glacier-ocean interactions using satellite imagery

Primary Mentor:Dr. Tasha Snow, tsnow@mines.edu | Dr. Matthew Siegfried, siegfried@mines.edu

read more

Accessibility and Accommodations for Students in STEM

Primary Mentor:Brianna Buljung, bbuljung@mines.edu | Seth Vuletich, sethvuletich@mines.edu

read more

Accelerated and Heterogeneous Computing for Robotics

Primary Mentor:Neil Dantam, ndantam@mines.edu. Mehmet Belviranli, belviranli@mines.edu.

read more